top of page

How Do I Enroll in Medicaid HCBS
Waiver Disability Services?

Job Candidate_edited_edited.jpg

Step 1:

Become eligible through your local Case Management Agency (CMA):

  • CMA's provide case management services for those receiving disability services. 

  • All individuals receiving disability services should go through the CMA assigned to the county they live in.

  • CMA's are determined by region and county of residence:

    • CMA by region

    • If your region is not listed, start with one that is closest to you.

  • Be prepared to complete paperwork and intake assessments.

    • This will involve the individual receiving services directly.

  • The intake process will include:

    • Support Intensity Scale (SIS) assessment

    • Selection of waiver and services

    • Request for Proposal (RFP) process

    • Individual Plan (IP) meeting

    • Service enrollment

  • You will receive confirmation of enrollment typically within 1 to 3 months of beginning the intake process.

Step 2:

Enroll in a HCBS Waiver:

Step 3:

Choose a Program Approved Service Agency (PASA):

  • Learn about available PASAs

  • Start the request for proposal (RFP) process

    • Individuals in services have the right to make an informed choice on their service providers through the RFP process.

    • Individuals are able to send out a detailed request for the services they are looking for to meet their needs.

    • PASAs will reply with their ability to meet the needs of the proposal.

    • Individuals can then interview providers who responded to make an informed choice about who they would like to work with.

    • Individuals can work with different agencies for different services. There is no requirement to choose only one agency.

Step 4:

Start Services:

bottom of page